Menu Plan Monday 12/4/23

Williams Woodland Christmas tour horse carriage

Hi friends! Welcome to December. Our house is decorated for Christmas, which is a big task but one that is really satisfying when it’s finished 🙂 This week I already got to attend a few fun Christmas events. Friday evening was a home tour in a historic neighborhood. A friend and I often go to another one of these around Labor Day, which is nice also, but I think I like this one even better. Several of us attended in the evening, so there’s kind of a Christmas feel to it with the lights glowing as we walked the streets. The homes are decorated for Christmas, there’s a horse-drawn carriage going around that you can catch sometimes, and there were several stops with cookies. It’s just a fun environment.

Then Sunday a friend and I drove to Rome City, to Hoosier author Gene Stratton Porter’s final Indiana home. They host a December event called “A Dream of Beauty,” which is how Gene described her home in the early 1900s in one of her books. They decorate the house as she described it there. Come back Friday and I’ll tell you more about that.

As for menus this week, they’re going to look pretty similar to last week. I ordered Hello Fresh meals a week ago to serve 4, but since Daughter #2 usually gets her own food these days, that means I only cooked half of each recipe last week. I’ll repeat it this week. All the meals were good, although some were a little on the spicy side for me. They’re definitely a step up from my usual cooking with all the sauces and extras that they have me make.

Monday: Roasted chicken/potato/carrot bake — I cut up potatoes, carrots, and a chicken breast or two and sprinkle with about 1/3 cup olive oil and a packet of onion soup mix. Bake at 400 for about 45 minutes.

Tuesday: Lasagna-Stuffed Spaghetti Squash — adult piano student brought by one final spaghetti squash, and we enjoyed this recipe using them when I made it a month or so ago.

Wednesday: Cajun Blackened Tilapia (repeat of last week)

Thursday: Hello Fresh Brown Sugar Bourbon Pork Chops (repeat!)

Friday: Hello Fresh Tex Mex Turkey Bowls (repeat!)

What are your plans for the week, or how was your last week? Any Christmas events? Have you decorated yet?

4 comments

  1. I was thinking of making the Roasted chicken/potato/carrot bake this week, too. That’s one of your recipes that we make regularly, especially during cold weather.

    The Christmas events sound fun! We have some this week that I am trying to decide about attending. With age and health issues, I just can’t go to everything offered, so I am praying/thinking about which to go to.

  2. I’m looking forward to a Christmas event this week. Bibles International has its Christmas gathering on Thursday evening. That is always a pleasant time. The meal is catered by a very good caterer who often caters for us. Each of us is asked to bring hors d’oeuvres, etc. The food is always delicious! We sing carols and have a brief devotional time.

  3. The past week got away from me because of doctor and dental appointments. Also did some shopping while out so have finally gotten back to my email. The house tour sounds like so much fun. It’s been quite a few years since I did one and I recall how much I enjoyed it.

    Today we did some Christmas decorating and I hope to start baking Christmas cookies and addressing some cards this week. I have no appointments so am hoping to accomplish a lot of Christmas stuff.

    I must check out books by Gene Stratton Porter. It seems like I have read something by her but can’t recall when or which book it was. I am looking forward to reading more on your Friday blog.

I love to hear from you! Thanks for taking the time to join the community by leaving a comment.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.