Killing the Witches: Review

Bill O’Reilly has become famous for his “Killing” series. I’ve read Killing Lincoln, Killing Jesus, and Killing Kennedy. Some of the later titles haven’t really captured my attention too much, and “Killing the Witches” was the same. But my former adult piano student enjoyed it, so I decided to give it a try.

First, the book’s title is a bit misleading. You would probably expect the book to be all about the Salem witch trials. But, that’s only about the first 1/3 of the book. After that, there’s a part about the Founding Fathers, particularly Ben Franklin. And finally, there’s part about Ronald Hunkeler, a teen whose demon possession and exorcisms around 1950 formed the basis for the book and movie, “The Exorcist.”

Some things I noted as I read —

  • Contrary to popular belief, no witches were burned in Salem. They were all hanged.
  • Life in Puritan New England was pretty harsh. Some of the items banned: “Mixt” dances (“Is this a time for Jigs and Galiards?” I had to chuckle because I’ve played a few galiards and they seemed pretty innocent to me), “stage-plays,” maypoles, drinking, gambling, and pagan Christmas celebrations.
  • The Salem witch goings-on occurred mainly in 1692, 200 years after Columbus sailed to the New World. At the time of the witch trials, life expectancy in the colonies was 65, much higher than in England. I found it interesting that life expectancy here would have been higher than in ostensibly more civilized England.
  • Increase and Cotton Mather were a father-son pastor who were behind a lot of the witch trials. It seems that a group of teen girls accused some local people (mainly women) of being witches. As they saw that their accusations were taken seriously and that many of these women were killed, they became emboldened and accused more and more of witchcraft. In addition to preaching, Cotton Mather wrote prodigiously and published more book and essays than anyone else in US history. His knowledge of “science” was highly respected, even though this seems inexplicable given his condoning of all the killing of “witches.” I had to think of Dr. Fauci and the way he had the chutzpah to equate himself with “science.”
  • One of those accused of witchcraft was a 4-year-old girl named Dorothy Good. After being locked up for several weeks, she confesses and accuses her mother of being a witch. Dorothy is set free while her mother is hanged.
  • During the witch trials, those on trial often learned that proclaiming themselves guilty often saved their lives. This was the beginning of the concept of plea bargaining, which is used a lot today. They were also more likely to survive if they could name others as “witches.”
  • I found the whole section on Hunkeler and his supposed demon-possession very interesting. I didn’t know much if anything about it.

Overall, this book felt like a bit of a miss and a mess to me. I’m not sure of the “big picture” connections O’Reilly wanted us to make among the three parts of the book. It kind of felt like he planned a book on the Salem witch trials but realized that he didn’t have enough material, so decided to tack on the other parts. These books are always best-sellers, so you can’t really fault O’Reilly for making hay while the sun shines and pumping out as many as he can.

There are frequent cliff hangers — “but things will get even worse” — followed by the next chapter going backward rather than forward in time. The whole book being written in the present tense felt jarring to me as well.

I found the Salem section to be hard to follow in parts, with many side characters and names brought in which were hard to keep track of. I’m just not sure of the point of the Founding Fathers part.

If any of these three topics interest you, check this book out. You may enjoy it more than I did.

5 comments

  1. No thanks, I will not be reading Killing Witches. I have enjoyed several other books written by Bill O’Reilly, but witches have never been interesting to me. A real witch would be on the dark side and associated with the Devil in my opinion. Therefore, I will stick to historical novels, biographies, etc. It always pleases me when Christianity is brought into play in stories with meaningful, happy endings

  2. While I was familiar with the Salem Witch Trials, (who isn’t??), I was shocked to learn the bigger history of Witchery in European history. Between 1400 and 1782, between 40,000 and 60,000 people were tried and executed in Europe. The epicenter of the hysteria was in German-speaking areas of Central Europe (Germany wasn’t yet a country), Northeastern France, and Switzerland. Those numbers are astonishing, and our American “episode” amounts to virtually nothing by comparison. Contemporary historians blame the Little Ice Age, a time of environmental instability–can I say Global Climate Change??? Cooling temperatures, caused by a Grand Solar Minimum, caused crop failures, famine, inflation and economic instability across Northern Europe. And of course, somebody had to be blamed! In Osnabruck, Westphalia where I was an exchange student in High School, they blamed all the witchcraft on red-haired people, mostly women. I can’t help but wonder about the similarities between the WEF, led by GERMAN Klaus Schwab and those witchcraft days. After all, we are told someone has to be to blame for our current “environmental crisis”…..who will be the Witches of our day? Non-conformists who won’t comply with the agenda? How many will we burn, one way or another??? Too bad Bill O’Reilly focused on the American experience and didn’t put it all into context with the larger and much more frightening history in Europe!

  3. I don’t think I’d be interested in the book either. The Salem witch trials are fascinating in a morbid way–such superstition from people who should have known better. (We watch the renewed version of Quantum Leap, and they just had an episode on that.)

    I’m not sure what the Founding Fathers had to do with witchcraft? And I definitely wouldn’t want to read of Ronald Hunkeler’s experiences. Witches and such as a subject creep me out. But I do wonder what O’Reilly’s overall theme was. I just looked it up on Amazon, just out of curiosity. It says there “The repercussions of Salem continue to the present day, notably in the real-life story behind The Exorcist and in contemporary “witch hunts” driven by social media.” Is he saying Hunkeler’s situation was driven by similar hysteria to what happened in Salem? He does have a point, though, about media “witch hunts” these days, with being “canceled” and slandered if you’re on the wrong side of public opinion.

  4. The only book I’ve read by Bill O’Reilly was Killing Lincoln which I thoroughly enjoyed. I learned so much about what life was like during that time. I don’t think I’d enjoy Killing the Witches though. I’ve never been interested in reading about witches in any format. Your review was very interesting and you certainly brought out some intriguing points.

I love to hear from you! Thanks for taking the time to join the community by leaving a comment.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.