Unsung Hero: Review

#UnsungHeroMIN #UnsungHeroMovie #MomentumInfluencerNetwork Thanks to Kingdom Faith Marketing Services, LLC, for providing a sample of the product for this review. Opinions are my own.

Many times over the years, it has occurred to me that pretty much everybody has an interesting story, if you take the time to hear it. When I had the opportunity to review “Unsung Hero,” about the Smallbone family from Australia, I knew nothing about them. But after watching this movie, I now do. And it was an interesting story!

The movie begins with the family (Mom, Dad, 6 kids, and expecting a 7th) facing a challenge when the Dad, who is a music concert promoter, loses his job. They move to America. You can imagine the stress involved in moving a large family to a totally new country and culture. The job that Dad is counting on falls through, and the family is basically penniless. They begin cleaning houses and other humble things to survive. Throughout, Mom is the “unsung hero,” with her cheery can-do attitude. I have to be honest; Dad kind of wore on me since he seemed to be constantly morose, crying, or losing his temper. It’s understandable, but still.

One home they clean happens to belong to Eddie DeGarmo, of the group DeGarmo and Key — I made a connection here since I recall enjoying their Christian music back in the ’80s. The family’s daughter Rebecca has a nice singing voice and Key is able to get her an audition, after which she is signed with a record company. DeGarmo suggests she change the last name Smallbone to St John, but she decides on St James instead, after her grandpa (who dies around this time). I had definitely heard the name Rebecca St James even if I wasn’t specifically familiar with her music. Two of the family’s sons later form their own group, “For King and Country,” which becomes famous too. I found it interesting that one of the sons played the part of the dad in the movie.

I found the family’s story really interesting even though I hadn’t been familiar with their music prior to seeing the movie. I also enjoyed the late ’80s/early ’90s look of the film; it took me back to that era in my life. I *love* all the Christian-themed movies making it to mainstream theaters lately, and I think pretty much anyone would enjoy this film. You’ll have chance to see it in theaters starting April 26. You can buy tickets here.

Interview with one of the boys.

Here’s the trailer for you to check out:

The producers would like to celebrate the film’s release by offering one of you a $10 Amazon gift card (US only please).

Here is how to enter:

  • Leave a comment about “Unsung Hero” — are you familiar with the music of Rebecca St James or For King and Country? etc.
  • “Like” or make a comment at my Facebook page; comment here telling me the name you commented under.
  • Follow me on Twitter; comment here with your Twitter name.
  • Follow me on Instagram; comment here with your Instagram name.

I’ll choose a random winner May 3.

8 comments

  1. I am not familiar with Unsung Hero but I think I would enjoy learning more about same. Thank you for exposing me to this.

  2. I loved this movie too. I think it’s perfect for Mother’s day since their mom was the UNsung Hero. I love the music too. I wasn’t familiar with the solo artist, but I have listened to King and Country before. 

  3. This sounds like a really interesting movie, one which I think I would enjoy. I remember Rebecca St. James’ music but I didn’t know her story.

  4. I keep seeing ads for this. It looks interesting. I’d heard of Rebecca St. James but had never listened to her music. I’ve seen a few of For King and Country’s videos.

  5. I so want to see this movie with my family it sounds amazing. I am not familiar with the music of Rebecca St James or For King and Country but I will check it out.

  6. I have been seeing lots of advertisements for Unsung Hero and think it sounds like a wonderful movie. I’m not familiar with any of the people mentioned. I’m hoping someday it will be on Peacock or Prime and I can watch it then.

I love to hear from you! Thanks for taking the time to join the community by leaving a comment.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.