Menu Plan Monday 1/21/19

Indiana snowfall
Thanks to Daughter #2 for the pretty picture!

Welcome to another wintry menu plan Monday! If the photo looks familiar — yes, it’s the same as last week. Mainly that’s because it looks pretty much the same outside! We had blizzard-like weather over the weekend, well, mini blizzard-like. Maybe 5″ of snow and 40 mph winds. Then last night and today we’ll struggle to get above zero degrees. Thankfully, no school today anyway. My organ church canceled yesterday so I didn’t need to get out for that, and bonsai meeting is moved to this coming Saturday. The January meeting for that is a good one as we meet at a big local greenhouse where the city stores plants used at the zoo, botanical gardens, and other places. It’s always great to walk amidst all the green in the middle of winter.

So, I’m not getting out in the frigid air for my typical Monday grocery shopping. The menu plan is coming from what is already here in the house. It’s nice to do that every so often. This week will be a little light on cooking too due to fitting in the 15 ISSMA kids in addition to 11 piano students. Ack!

Monday: There have been some good sales here on chicken breasts, so I have a lot. I will cook maybe 5 lbs in the crockpot, and then we can either use that tonight for tacos or to make nachos (basically putting chicken, cheese, olives, onions, etc. over tortilla chips and baking it for a little while).

Tuesday: leftover buffet — lots of leftovers in the fridge currently. I love it, since these mean a no-cooking night šŸ™‚

Wednesday: Beef and Bean Taco Casserole — made before and liked.

Thursday: chicken cordon bleus (I buy these ready-made at Meijer, frozen, so I just bake them) — these are a favorite of Daughter #3.

Friday: Split Pea Soup — perfect soup weather. Naan bread for a side.

How is the weather in your area? What is new at your place this week? I love to read your comments all the time, but especially on Mondays. Have a great week!

7 comments

  1. In Seymour midmorning it was 13 degrees outside my home. I thank God for my wonderful warm home with an attached garage! I do not take it for granted! I made a double batch of cheddar broccoli soup yesterday and began eating it for lunch today. I decided it needed more in it so I cut & and cooked 3 potatoes and added that. I was still hungry after 1 bowl so I treated myself to a Reese’s Pieces Candy Bar and 2 cups of hot coffee! I am cleaning in a bedroom closet – a chore I have piddled with for days b/c it’s not any fun! Stay cozy and remember – “These are YOUR Golden Years!”

  2. I’m so thankful you didn’t have to get out this weekend, except for your local church, or today. The weather here is about like what you’re having. I had a comfortable night with an electric mattress pad. Warm, comfortable nights are definitely something for which to thank the Lord in this weather. How grateful I am God has provided this for me! Enjoy your day off without having to shop.

  3. Very cold here – down in the low teens overnight, and I think less than 20 when I went out this morning. I was thinking vegetable beef soup (except we use ground turkey instead of beef) would be good for tonight except I am out of the corn muffin mix I use, and no cornmeal on hand. Am thinking about a plan B. šŸ™‚

  4. After staying home for 3 days straight, I plan to get out tomorrow for breakfast group in spite of the zero weather.
    Our Saturday breakfast group cancelled out, and so did church on Sunday. While the snow is beautiful, I am ready for an early spring thaw! You do have a very busy week with all of your musical duties. It’s good that you have plenty of food in the house all ready to put together quickly. Since I had plenty of spare time, I did fix roast beef, mashed potatoes, and green beans for lunch today. Soup and salad will suffice for my evening meal tonight. Have a good week with all of those practices!

  5. I made a “healthy” macaroni and cheese recipe with vegetable broth and cooked squash in the cheese sauce. It wasn’t bad, and we have heated up the leftovers. Also I got out the Crock Pot for the first time this winter, and made baked steak with mashed potatoes. Yummmm!

  6. I seem to be the “odd man out” since I live in central Florida and do not have snow or freezing temperatures! We have had a couple of cool spells but after a short time, it’s warm and sunny again. It was perfect weather today, I was outside with a short-sleeved shirt and tomorrow is going to be even nicer. But then another cool spell is coming. It probably wouldn’t even seem cool to those of you up north though.

    I made crab cakes for dinner last night, hubby had a church meeting with good food this evening so I ate leftovers. Tomorrow will be baked fish and I will think of something for Thursday and Friday. I am not organized in the food department this week.

    Good luck with all the music activities. Let us know how things go.

I love to hear from you! Thanks for taking the time to join the community by leaving a comment.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.