Maria: Review

How could I not request “Maria” to review? My mom has frequently told of taking me to see “The Sound of Music” at the theater when I was two, and how I sat rapt through the entire film. I’ve toured sites from the film in Europe twice. Look at the name of my blog! I really enjoy the story of the von Trapps. And I just love the cover of the book! I think it was worth downloading (thanks, NetGalley) for the cover alone.

The book purports to be a fictional novel about Maria von Trapp (“You know the name and the iconic songs, but do you know her real story? This dramatic novel, based on the woman glamorized in The Sound of Music, brings Maria to life as never before”). It opens with Maria von Trapp writing a letter to Oscar Hammerstein, who wrote the music for the film (but first for the play, which preceded the movie). She is upset with changes he made; for instance, making Maria the sympathetic figure and the Captain the harsh one (which she said was opposite to reality) — changing the ages and genders of the children (in reality, there were two boys and five girls, and the oldest was not the movie’s Liesl, but a boy) — the idea that the family escaped the Nazis by hiking the mountains into Switzerland (not likely since Salzburg is nowhere near the Swiss border). There is a Baroness in the story, but she is an employee living in the house and not the woman the Captain is originally planning to marry — that is a Princess. Etc. I understand her frustrations with the changes being made, but honestly, I think this happens with pretty much every big play/movie about someone’s life. It seemed a little weak as the arc to hang an entire story on.

The book also features a series of flashbacks where Maria tells her story, as well as the continuing drama with her now-grown children. There is also a side plot with four fictional young men and women, some of whom work for Hammerstein and play romantic musical chairs with the accompanying drama.

I enjoyed tidbits about the movie/play: the producers’ original name was “The Singing Heart.” This book claims that the pre-nun Maria an atheist, “forced to listen to nonsense about God,” but apparently took to the nunnery in an attempt to escape a harsh upbringing. It was sad that Hammerstein died of stomach cancer not long after the play’s premiere and prior to the movie coming out. “Edelweiss,” according to the book, is the last song he ever wrote. A priest named Father Wasner taught the children music, and accompanied the family to America where he arranged all their pieces.

It was also sad to read that Maria forced the children (the original 7 plus the three she and the Captain had after they married) to perform as singers once they had moved to America, and that this eventually resulted in her estrangement from many of them. I liked this thought of Maria’s: “There is no such thing as forever. Someday soon the children will grow up and not need a governess. But I don’t say these things, because of course no one wishes to imagine a time when their children have all left.” Relatable!

But (and for me it was a huge but), the author states in her note “some of the more unbelievable scenes in this novel … truly happened.” Ummm … some of them? We really are given no insights into which parts of this novel are true and which are fictional. To many people, it may not really matter. But as a big fan of the movie and the von Trapps, it bothers me to read this story, taking it pretty much as fact, and not really knowing whether or not it is. I felt a little like the real Maria, not liking someone messing with my reality when writing my story 🙂

So, I’m not sure who would enjoy this book. If you’re a Sound of Music fan, it may bother you not knowing what’s real in this book and what’s not. You might enjoy it more if you weren’t a Sound of Music fan — but if that was the case, would you care enough to read it? Your call. It left me wanting to reread Maria von Trapp’s autobiography sometime (I read it, but it’s been years ago).

6 comments

  1. You have hit the nail on the head exactly regarding my gripe about “historical fiction” in general. The reader never really knows what liberties have been taken with the generally historical plotline. I was just having this discussion with a friend who is a fan of historical fiction because “it brings history to life” for her. Supposedly, as readers, we just can’t deal with actual, documentable or at least footnotable facts when reading our history? I have always preferred really well-written actual history or source material (an autobiography for example over a novel). Not every biography is accurate either, but at least I know a whole lot more about what I’m getting! It has been my experience to always go to the source if you can.

  2. Given all the caveats, I think I would enjoy the book, anyway. Thanks for the review.

  3. Excellent review. I’ve read her own books. She dumped some of the kids in a convent orphanage because they were too much trouble when traveling (too little) and hated having to have a “real” marriage with the Captain–act that begets children was apparently not something she liked though that is not actually said. She was not attracted to her husband. And, having seen the REAL Captain I’ll take lovely Christopher Plummer any day! lol. But Maria was not super model, either. She ended up with a very nice life. I think she complained too much. The kids were exploited like the Duggars and Bates kids.

  4. I think I’d prefer her autobiography. I don’t mind fictionalized biographies if the author clearly lets us know in the afterword what parts he or she made up. I saw a movie recently about the Von Trapps from the viewpoint of the oldest daughter which was quite different from TSOM: “The von Trapp Family: A Life of Music.” I have a book about the family in my Kindle library—I should read it soon.

  5. Wow, this is really interesting. I am a huge Sound of Music fan. Even though some of it is negative I am always interested in the true stories behind the stories!

  6. Lisa from Hopewell’s Library of Life directed me to this review since I mentioned on my blog that I was looking forward to reading MARIA. Thanks for your thoughts on the book. One of my pet peeves about historical fiction is not knowing what’s real and what’s not. Obviously, hist-fic is going to take some liberties with the truth. I expect that, but I do like to know where the author has stretched the facts and where they haven’t. I suspect the same things that irritated you about the book will irritate me as well. Good to know.

    I’m still planning to read the book. I watched The Sound of Music over and over as a child because it was one of the few movies my dad deemed appropriate for the Sabbath. (I can still quote most of the film by heart.) The Von Trapp story intrigues me. I should probably read Maria’s own memoirs (I think I have in the past, but it’s been so long I can’t remember anything about them) alongside this one.

    At any rate, thanks for the thoughtful review!

    Susan

    http://www.blogginboutbooks.com

I love to hear from you! Thanks for taking the time to join the community by leaving a comment.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.