Sensible Sustainability: Review

Earlier this spring, I went to a program at the local library branch about sensible sustainability in gardens, yards, etc. The draw for me was the presenter, Ricky Kemery. Years ago, when I got the local newspaper, he was our horticulture extension agent and wrote a column on gardening that I enjoyed reading. The program was interesting as expected, and I was excited to win a copy of Ricky’s new book. “Sensible Sustainability: A Lighthearted Approach to Develop Sustainable Landscapes and Gardens.”

For the past several weeks, I have sat down with the book whenever I have free time, and read a chapter. There are 17, on topics like fertilizers, flowers, trees and shrubs, weeds, growing vegetables, pests, yards, etc. It’s a very practical book, with lots of pictures too. I love the book and am very happy to have it as a resource. It’s especially helpful to me since some of the information is tailored to the very area I live in, but much of the information would apply to people living anywhere.

I know at first I was a little wary due to the “sustainability” in the title. It’s kind of funny because I was frugal, “green,” and sustainable before it was cool and “woke” to be that way. But no worries, because Ricky’s book is big on SENSIBLE sustainability, and his takes are mainly common sense things that I totally agree with. Sustainable, in this book, is largely synonymous with realistic.

I found myself highlighting many spots in this book. Here are just a few things that I found interesting:

  • The area where I live has highly alkaline soil. Most plants prefer more acidic soils. This was affirming to me since I feel like it’s difficult to grow most plants here (more than it was in the family garden of my childhood in the southern part of the state). “In essence, growing vegetables in compacted alkaline wet clay soils is like trying to grow vegetables on a flooded bowling alley that is also covered in limestone. It is a recipe for disaster” (yet for some reason I keep trying …) 🙂
  • Kemery mentions that, at least in areas like ours with problem soils, soil for gardens must have amendments added annually. He lists his preferred amendments.
  • He mentions that most bagged soil from big stores is mostly “muck,” which is not great. An additional problem is that these soils rarely if ever have windows in the bags, so you don’t know what you’re getting until you purchase. Our city has a site where you can get compost free, and he touted this as great soil. Unfortunately, on the day I visited they were out, and they have continued to be on the many times I’ve since called. Apparently the word is getting out.
  • Tomatoes were originally grown in South America, hence why there are many issues when we try growing them here.
  • Nasturtiums are a good companion crop for vegetable gardens since they repel many insects.
  • He has a good section of pests, including the troublesome Japanese beetles. He mentions Neem and I may try that on my pussy willow and Rose of Sharon, since those are the main things the beetles seem to devour at my place.
  • When planting trees, make sure the tree “flare” at the base is above the soil line, and avoid “volcano mulching” where mulch is stacked up high along the tree’s trunk. Both lead to growth problems, base rotting, and other issues. These days I often look for examples of these bad practices as I bike around the area.
  • I liked Kemery’s reverie on the lawns of his (and my) youth, which weren’t afraid of dandelions and a more “rustic” look than the golf course-style in favor today (especially in subdivisions). “What I think now is that people do not realize the impact that pesticide applications and massive fertilizer and water applications have on everyone. I always have hoped that somehow everyone could go back to the days when it was okay to have a lawn that wasn’t perfect.” I would agree.

I really enjoyed reading and learning from “Sensible Sustainability,” and if you are interested in such topics, I think you would as well.

4 comments

  1. This might be a book I recommend to Roger as he is our “master gardner” in the house. I have a notoriously NOT green thumb, but happily he does! As you already know, I’m a big supporter of letting the dandelions grow until they get obnoxious. We have a friend who was taking our grass clippings to feed his horses because we didn’t use pesticides. And I have been quite concerned that the overuse of pesticides is damaging the lightning bug population. And I have also been quite concerned about what we are doing to our pets from overuse of lawn and garden pesticides. I know that cancer in dogs is on the increase. I now won’t let my dog lap up water from puddles in the neighborhood and I’m a little hesitant to let him walk on the grass in the common areas as so much pesticide is used to keep that golf-course look in tact. I guess I’m wishing we could make peace with the place we live and the plants that live here. I just don’t like the poison everything theory–as I’m suspicious we are in the end going to poison ourselves as well. So I might have to invest in this book! Thanks for the recommendation!

  2. This book has so much valuable information. I wish I had a copy when I lived in the houses before the one we are living in now. We don’t have much room to plant flowers and the only food we have planted here is a pineapple which yielded a good one. I have always been concerned about all the chemicals used on lawns. When it rains, it all gets washed off and into the drains. I know you’ll make good use of this book. I’m glad you won a copy.

I love to hear from you! Thanks for taking the time to join the community by leaving a comment.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.